Ismadi elected as the new SAM President

Ismadi elected as the new SAM President


By: Ahmad Khawari Isa (AIPS EC Member, Malaysia)

KUALA LUMPUR: After a nail-biting contest for the top post, Ismadi Manap emerged as the newly-elected President for the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) for the fresh three-year term 2020-2023.

 Ismadi, who previously held the vice-president post, was declared a winner with a one vote majority, edging the incumbent president, Jasni Shafie in the second round of voting which was held on Monday.

 The second round of voting was required after the first contest between the two – during the biennial SAM Congress on the 3rd April 2021 – ended with a tie with both candidates receiving 51 votes each.

 A total of 94 members took part in the second round of voting, with Ismadi receiving 47 votes and Jasni pocketed 46 votes with one spoilt vote.

 “I would like to record my appreciation to all the members who carry out their duties for both the voting rounds and I thank them for their faith in me. With this mandate, and a strong line up of executive committee members, we will work hard to bring SAM to scale greater heights,” said Ismadi.

 Former General Secretary, Faisal Jamal, won the contest for the Deputy President’s post while the two new vice-presidents are Mohd Hazreen Noor Mubarak and Hafizal Hamad. Asan Ahmad won uncontested as the new general secretary.

 Completing the new line-up for the SAM leadership are Zuriati Zulmi, Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi, Ku Mohd Lutfi Ku Yahya, Mohammad Rozaidi Zulkifli and Ajitpal Singh.

 Amongst the immediate tasks for this new committee is to appoint a special advisory panel to propose necessary amendments for the Association’s statutes.

 SAM New Executive Committee 2020-2023

President: Ismadi Manap

Deputy President: Faisal Jamal

Vice Presidents: Mohd Hazreen Noor Mubarak & Hafizal Hamad

General Secretary: Asan Ahmad

Treasurer: Azahari Mohd Yusof

EC Members: Zuriati Zulmi, Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi, Ku Mohd Lutfi Ku Yahya, Mohammad Rozaidi Zulkifli, Ajitpal Singh.