Six AFC representatives on FIFA Council confirmed

Six AFC representatives on FIFA Council confirmed



April 08, 2019
In addition to the AFC President and FIFA Vice-President, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Member Associations have today elected Asia’s six representatives who will serve on the FIFA Council for the next four-year term (2019-2023) at the 29th AFC Congress 2019 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
HE Du Zhaocai (China PR), Mr. Praful Patel (India), Mr. Kohzo Tashima (Japan), Mr. Mariano V. Areneta, Jr. (Philippines) and Mr. Saoud A. Aziz M A Al-Mohannadi (Qatar) secured the simple majority after one round of voting.
Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Bangladesh) secured the simple majority required when she obtained the most votes in the elections for the FIFA Female Council position.
Ms. Mahfuza Akhter Kiron, who also secured the simple majority in the South Zone, will be joined on the AFC Executive Committee by Ms. Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea) for the East Zone, Ms. Kanya Keomany (Laos) for the ASEAN Zone and Ms. Susan R. A. Alshalabi (Palestine) for the West Zone – all of whom confirmed their places by acclamation.
The elections for the AFC Female Executive Committee member for the Central Zone, which was uncontested during this Congress, will be held at a later date.
Together with the AFC President, Shaikh Salman bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa, who is also the FIFA Vice President, the AFC will have seven members on the FIFA Council.